Self Acceptance

  Dear friend,

I may not know you personally, but the word that I would like to share with you today is Self Acceptance.

To have “self acceptance” is to love yourself as a whole, to know yourself and your flaws AND STILL to love them and yourself for who you are.

I know that this may be easier said than done. I myself have gone through this journey and am sure it shall evolve, as I get older. For example in eighth grade at school, everything in my life seemed to be falling apart. My parents were getting divorced, I had just lost my best friend, and I didn’t know what to do with myself. However I then encountered someone who came into my life that influenced my thoughts and the way I see myself. This person said to me “Everything in your life may be going wrong. Maybe it’s the way people treat you or the way society looks down on you, however whatever it is, doesn’t define you, as long as you have yourself and you can wrap your arms around yourself, you have bear hug one.”

This message truly helped me in my life, because it is very true: as long as you have yourself to hug you don’t need anyone else. Now I’m not saying that you don’t need people in your life, but I am saying that if you feel alone or in a place where you do not know yourself, as long as you are willing to love yourself for who you are, and acknowledge the mistakes that you’ve made throughout your life, you always have ‘bear hug one’. And that responsibility of truly accepting who you are no matter what those around you think, is true self acceptance.

Throughout your life people may come and go, but you always have yourself. So love who you are and accept the inner core of your true being. You have to live for yourself, and that doesn’t make you selfish; it makes you aware of who you are. Embrace that, and embrace yourself.

All you need is “bear hug one”.

If you have a message to share on your personal self acceptance story, please leave comment below.

If this letter has touched you please write on my blog and then send or share this letter with someone else.

Thank you,

With love, from your friend

Leave a Reply

