Family

On the third day of christmas my true love sent to me:
3 french hens,
2turtle doves,
and a partridge in a pear tree.

Family: A bunch of people who hate each other and are forced to eat dinner together. (Well according to urban dictionary).

Yes, I know that made you laugh.

  

The truth is family is one of the most important things we have in life. Yes, we don’t get to choose exactly which family we are going to end up in, but on a deeper level we choose and are given the tools and life we think we can handle.

  

To me, family is like a board game; more specifically snakes and ladders that are in puzzle piece form. Yes there are many ups and downs, and yes, the direction in life and the path may change and few new pieces here or there, but when you get to the end it, is smooth sailing.

I remember when my parents got divorced, I thought “oh no! My family is not whole anymore,” but I’ve realized and am still figuring out that although my parents relationship may have changed, the “unit” family is still the same. I feel that my parent’s divorce has really changed the way I see a lot of things in my life. I’m extremely close to my sisters and have seen my mother blossom over the last few years. I’ve also come to the realization that life is not perfect and I think that has helped me to built strong relationships.

 
 Family (the real definition): the people you love and love you back, not necessarily by blood or are biological, but you trust them and they trust you, and they take care of you and you take care of them. (Also according to urban dictionary).

Family is that warm fuzzy feeling you have when you wake up after a lie in on a Sunday morning. Family is the place where you form your own opinions and create your own voice. Family is the place where you are judged the most but not at all, all at the same time. Family is an invisible connection that is always there even when you are far apart. Family is like a home it is nothing without the people and relationships we form with each other along the way.

  

So as we get into the festive mood, we should appreciate and acknowledge our family, for the things they taught us and the things that will stay with us for the rest of our lives.

  

Just Love, accept and forgive one-another this festive season.

Leave a Reply

