being okay

On the seventh day of Christmasmy true love sent to me:                                        7 Swans a Swimming.                                6 Geese a Laying.                                         5 Golden Rings.                                             4 Calling Birds.                                                  3 French Hens.                                                2 Turtle Doves.                                             and a Partridge in a Pear Tree.
  

For me Christmas is the time of the year where you are allowed to let down your guard and just enjoy the merry spirits of Christmas.
The year has been long, but is slowly dwindling down to a close, yet it has felt like a whirlwind of emotions, self-growth and self-discovery.

I’ve laughed
I’ve cried (a lot)
But best of all I’ve learnt.

This year has taught me, that it is alright to say no. Even to the people that are closest to you. Sometimes (most times) it’s okay to look after yourself and do the things that you want to do, rather then to ponder about how people see you.

  

For instance, staying at home and watching a movie instead of going out to a party, or trick or treaty on Halloween with a bunch of friends, because you are never too old for sweets, and not care about who is judging you.

I learnt that people are going to let you down. No matter how hard you try for a friendship or a relationship, sometimes you’re not going to be the first priority and that’s okay. For the first time in my life I have come to terms with that and have really accepted it as a blessing and have learnt that at the end of the day it doesn’t define me if people don’t want me in their lives, but gives me time to grow and have patience for those who do.

  I’ve learnt that life goes on, and that there is no point on stressing over the things you can’t be changed because stress ties you down from enjoying the simple, beautiful things that everyday life beholds.

This year I wrote class 11 exams, the exams that are supposed to get you one step into the door of university. I have never felt so much pressure in my life, I studied extremely hard, and at the end of the day after I had writen the exams the ready lets results were out of my hands, and I realized that; if you have worked and have done the best that you feel that you could have possibly done, then whatever happens, happens.

  

I have learnt that just like the ever changing seasons people change, and sometimes change is good because it prepares you for the next stage of your life. Sometimes you have to let go of the people you thought loved you, to make room for the people who will love you.

And I’ve just learnt that being okay and just dwelling in the moment is okay. Sometimes life isn’t always laughs and fun, sometimes life is just sad and tiring, and it’s okay to dwell in that part of life, as long as you are willing to accept the light at the end of the dark tunnel.
 

 

People change, you change and grow, but never forget to be true to yourself and enjoy the things that make you happy! Do the thingsthat you want to do this festive season and just enjoy life.

Leave a Reply

